h1

Long term strategy

April 3, 2008

MAJOR dropoff in posts here, I know but I just haven’t had anything new to post about. I’m still making things of course, but the thing is they’re all rather long term and difficult to really see progress on.

 I started the Clashtastic Log Cabin blanket so long ago I feel like I can use the phrase “once upon a time” to describe when it began. The good news is that the end is finally in sight! This blanket will be done when I no longer have usable amounts of Lion Brand Homespun taking up space in my stash. I started with 8 colors and am now down to 6, which doesn’t sound like much of an improvement until you learn that the rest of the colors only have maybe about one stripe left in them. So, amazingly, the knit blanket is almost done! And what have I learned from this? That knitting blankets is inefficient and nowhere near as speedy and fun as crocheting them!

I have a lot of green and blue yarnOn that note, I finally decided what to do with my outcast natural fiber yarns: Babette blanket. It’s huge but the squares are super fast to make and the modular construction makes me really happy. Like I can put together squares based on color sequences and then find a way to make them fit in the big picture. For example, the purple-black-blue square in the picture looks nice and all, but I don’t think it looks so good next to the big prime square (the blue-green concoction), so I’ll just save it for later! I’ve never been particularly good at seaming crochet, but I guess I have to learn sometime and the crazy resulting blanket will be totally worth it. The trick to this blanket is that I *will not* buy yarn specifically for it. This will be made slowly over time of my leftover worsted bits, and maybe if I figure out some voodoo with the DK that can get rolled in too.  Considering I almost always over-buy yarn for a project, the materials shouldn’t be too hard to get 🙂

Lastly, the color cycle of Project Spectrum have changed over to EARTH. I am so all over this one. I have green yarn like you would not believe, with brown also heavily represented in my stash. Like Fire before it, this new cycle gets kicked off with a new beret (maybe even one to replace my sadly felted tweed one 😦  ) It’s the most basic beret pattern on the internet, but the specialness comes from the Koigu I’m using to make it. First of all, I can totally understand the hype over this yarn now. It makes a really bouncy fabric and the colors are amazing. This colorway reminds me of the very beginnings of spring when everything around here is, to be honest, more yellow than green.

One comment

  1. Knitted blankets are the devil!



Leave a Reply

